The top 5 best ever gift wrapping tips > You’re welcome

Beautifully wrapped giftsEveryone loves a beautifully wrapped present. They do. I, however, find that the shoddily wrapped present is also adored, especially by the children who have no appreciation of finer points and just want what’s inside. There is a certain joy in being able to tear through the wrapping and rip it to bits in unbridled eagerness to get to whatever is inside — plus, the big pile of shredded wreckage is the perfect present for the cat. Bargain.

I also feel chuffed at having saved myself $10 on designer wrapping paper and special ribbon.  I know, how tight is that? But I’d rather spend $5 more on the present. Then that’s $5 extra for you and $5 extra for me. You know it makes sense.

Whilst my favoured wrapping methods may be cheap, there is no excuse for them not to be fun. Top five wrapping tips are:

  1. The very best wrapping paper is newspaper. Kids particularly appreciate the cartoon section.
  2. Use much tape. In fact make your present look like it is laminated. Will guarantee lots of whining as people wait for their turn.
  3. When tying ribbons always use double or even triple knots. Hide the scissors on Christmas morning and watch people gnaw through the ribbon. Those shreds stuck in their teeth are hilarious. Extra points if Nana’s false teeth come loose.
  4. Disguise the gift. If it is an Eiffel Tower money box probably handy to use bubble wrap or a box so it is not immediately apparent as being the Eiffel Tower. Note: If the gift is a puppy or a kitten, bubble wrap is not recommended.
  5. Prolong the unwrapping experience. Wrap one box inside another, inside another > repeat. The excitement is palpable, especially after the third or fourth box.  Of course the best present after all that effort is something really little. Like a peanut.

For an unintentionally amusing video of how to wrap a gift “professionally” see here. Personally I think sticking the paper TO the present to get the creased “I paid for this wrapping” look is cheating. It also wrecks the box.

Luckily they have chosen to wrap their gift in a crappy Amazon box instead of taking it out first. Good to see I have some standards.

The beautifully wrapped gift image is from the Flickr stream of Premier Packaging
Note to family: none of your presents are going to look like this.


About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humour and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The top 5 best ever gift wrapping tips > You’re welcome

  1. lyndajanepurcell says:

    Ooh Gillian, I wish I’d read this at Christmas because my gift wrapping efforts are RUBBISH. I do try and one year I used brown paper and red ribbon from a haberdasher. I have to say – that year I was proud of myself. But a well wrapped gift is a thing of beauty.

    • gillianloves says:

      Ha, guess what? I report this nearly every year so you will be reminded in plenty of time. I am a slapdash wrapper I have to say. I make the best of what I have…but I am also a cheapskate an would rather spend the money on the gift. I’m conflicted. One year I bought a big gift wrap box of tricks from Costco and EVERY stick-on bow just fell right off.

Leave a comment