I’m not messy, I’m creative

Book cover: THe life-changing magic of tidying upIt’s no secret among those who know me well that I seem to spend a Great Deal of Time cleaning up. Yet, it would be fair to say, I always seem to be in a bit of a mess. When everything is looking good it’s at least a few percentage points worse on the “My home is a temple” scale than it was the last time I cleaned up.

It’s true that as a kid my dad gave me a t-shirt that said I’m not messy, I’m creative.  It had a cute Boynton pig on it all covered in paint. He also snipped a Hagar the Horrible cartoon for me that said something like “Oh I see you’ve finally tidied your room” … and all the stuff was in a big pile outside the window. As if I’d do that.  I used to sweep it all under the bed.

The very best cleanups occur prior to my mother-in-law visiting.  She’s great, I like her a lot… which might be why I put in an extra million miles of effort.  Just so I can go, “Sorry about the mess, been so busy”.  Ha.  She knows this.  I’ve told her.  She’s that kind of good.

So anyway…  I saw write-ups for “the life-changing art of tidying up”.  Then I saw this YouTube by the author, Marie Kondo.  She is cute as a button.  I just know if she came to my house we would be friends forever.  After I revived her from the shock of seeing my messy piles-o-stuff universe. And after she rescued me from under a toppled mountain of mess.

Enjoy…

Yes, I’ve ordered the book. How could I not?

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Motivational, Organisation, YouTube and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m not messy, I’m creative

  1. Pete says:

    Nice one Gilly Goo. Yep, so in about a month after you’ve received the book I’ll come over and you will only have the things that bring you joy out on display?

Leave a Reply

