Colour burn … no Photoshop required

As the kids get older, the party cake mania subsides. I no longer have to make a pirate ship held together with a ton of icing and a packet of well-hidden, completely indigestible toothpicks. Okay that was a lie. The most extravagant thing I ever made was a puffer fish (see pic at end of post) which didn’t actually have any toothpicks in it. But you get my meaning cake fiends, after a certain age simple cakes are fine.

COLOURED-CANDLES_IMG_2159This year I just made a pyramid of cupcakes. They had loads of proper chocolate icing and smarties on them… yes, bigging up my massive effort here. Add a bonfire of coloured flame candles on top and voila!

If you haven’t discovered candles with coloured flames, I strongly recommend you give them a go.  These were only $4.95.  I’ve gotten them at both a cake decorating shop and a market so you know, keep your eyes open!

CANDLE-PACK_290Oh, you want to see the puffer fish?  Here you go.  It was a triumph of assembly. That’s all I can do.  Stick things on. The eye is a white Lindt ball with a dot of green icing (from a tube). You can just make out the array of cones along the top making his spiny fin. I have to say, I’m especially pleased with the teeth. They are pre-made icing disks you just get at the supermarket.  Half buried in the cake the make great nippers.

Cake that looks like a puffer fish (sort of)

Happy decorating!  : )

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Food & drink and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Colour burn … no Photoshop required

  1. You made a puffer fish cake.

    You are now my new Shero 😀

Leave a Reply

