Book of the week, no… book of the century

COVER_IMG_0017Relax, I can promise you right now I will not actually be showing you a book of the week. Or anything of the week for that matter.  That requires way too much commitment and organisation. I am much more likely to talk about whatever sparkly thing just caught my eye (uh oh… professional blog career fails to launch).

The Fourteen Bears Summer and Winter. I had a copy of this book when I was little.  I adored it.

It’s about a family of bears and their lives in summer and winter (obviously). Each bear has its own tree with bedroom decorated just how they like it.  I had my favourites. I loved the fish in the pond and the different flavoured honeys. Coconut honey?  Don’t mind if I do.

HONEY_IMG_0024

The fish undo her ribbons. Those wacky guys. She doesn’t eat them.

FISH-RIBBONS_IMG_0023


SWIMMING_IMG_0021

SKATING_IMG_0026

Look! The fish are sleeping (and the bears STILL don’t eat them).NIGHTCAP_IMG_0025

In winter they go to a farm and ogle the gifts under the tree and trash the snowman. Proper bear behaviour.

I whined for years about not having my copy any more. I finally found the name of it by googling “bear family in summer and winter” or something like that. You ask and Google will provide.

Then I found out how much it cost on Amazon. Cue a couple more years of whining, weeping and wailing. Anyhow, I had a moment where “Rockefeller me” gagged “sensible and frugal me” and told me I deserved it. I’d like to tell you someone gave it to me but, hey, that someone was me.

I DID get an old copy with a few pencil marks in it for a “fairly good price” (ie heaps less than what is up on Amazon at the moment) but no fibbing, it’s on the “don’t play with me much” shelf.

I know things can’t make you happy… and generally I’m a happy person anyway… but every time I look at it I get just a tiny bit happier.

: )

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

