The thrift store paintings never looked so good…

You know the old landscape that adorns many a holiday shack you used to visit as a kid… or the painting on the back of the toilet door at your aunty’s house… well now you can look upon them with fresh eyes. Artists Chris McMahon and Thryza Segal give these ageing dust collectors new life. They add a little something extra…

Chris McMahon

Chris McMahon

chris-mcmahon

Chris McMahon

thyrza-segal_2

Thyrza Segal

thyrza-segal

Thyrza Segal

You can also buy prints of some of them.  If you have a holiday shack you rent out to people like me I highly recommend you clamour for more and then buy them all.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Artists, Way cool and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The thrift store paintings never looked so good…

  1. Thyrza Segal says:

    Thanks for the compliments!The paintings are part of a series I call Alien Vacation. I make a lot of miniature 3D aliens out of polymer clay to put into terrariums and late one night I wondered what these aliens would do if they came to Earth on holidays…The one with the water skier is called Fun at the Lake…the other one is called Ropin’ Cowboys.I have short back stories on my etsy listing pages if you are curious. I also have links to the other kinds of art I do on the home page of my site http://www.thyrza.ca it seems 90% of it has to do with making monsters and aliens ; )

    • gillianloves says:

      Oh! Thanks so much for getting in touch. When I googled you I got the images and etsy site and missed your other website, sorry. I am so checking it out. Your work is excellent. : )

      • Thyrza Segal says:

        Thanks so much! I try to get current pics online but my website is horribly dated…gotta work on that…there are always more fun things that get in the way though-

Leave a Reply

