Martha who?

I’ll say it > I’m no Martha Gardener.  I tidy house… but not too well. I garden… sporadically.  I bake… but not often. Don’t get me started on sewing or knitting.

Well, the other day I decided to bake.

I use the work “bake” loosely (if it comes out of my oven, I baked it okay?). My bake-a-thon  involved opening box, dumping brown powder into a big bowl, adding water, oil and an egg.

Only problem was I didn’t have any eggs. “So what?” I cried as I merrily beat that goop within an inch of its life.  An egg only binds things… it’ll be FINE“.

weird looking brownies, thin and bubbly

Seems the egg makes it rise somehow too because the brownies that emerged from the oven were sad thin little bubbly things. They looked … well … interesting.

I’ll tell you what though, eaten warm with some fancy ice cream bunged on top they were sensational chewy oozy chocolatey delights. See, I’m more like Nigella than Martha any day.

Lovely (failed) brownies with ice cream

I stress “eaten warm” because next day we tried some cold. They had set to the hardness of a diamond. We couldn’t even give them to the dog.

Happy baking everyone!

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Food & drink and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

