Voice of an angel. An angry, growly angel.

Paul McDermott, Australian singer and entertainer.

Yes, he does have the voice of an angel.  Sure, an angel that is just as likely, instead of singing you gently to your rest, to sing you a song about killing pandas for fun and profit or a little ditty about whales being the juicy cows of the ocean.

This is a song written and performed for his (and our) dear friends who have left us too soon. It’s beautiful.

Near as I can figure them, the lyrics…

Transcended.

You float, you float across the sea
You say you’re guaranteed, to transcend it
And you fly, you fly across the sky
Your arms are open wide
You’re transcendent,
You’re transcendent.

Go child
Go and find the arms that warm you
You know child
Know no-one will ever harm you
You’ve run wild
And finally found the thoughts that calm you
So stretch out, stretch out and be…

In space you can barely breathe
I’ll tell you what you need
To transcend it.
You hold to a broken soul
And if they let you go
Transcended,
Transcended.

Go child
Go and find the arms that warm you
You know child
Know no-one will ever harm you
You’ve run miles
And finally found the thoughts that calm you
So stretch out
Stretch out and be
At peace.

And here, the stars still burn,
The world still turns,
It breaks my heart.

And here, the seasons turn,
The world still burns,
It breaks my heart.

Here the world still burns,
The earth still turns,
It breaks my heart.

Here the earth still turns,
The world still burns,
It breaks my heart.

Go child
Go and find the arms that warm you
You know child
Know no-one will ever harm you
You’ve run miles
Finally found the thoughts that calm you
So stretch out
Stretch out, stretch out and be
At peace.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Admiration, Way cool, YouTube and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

