We have ConTact… and we’re not afraid to use it, unfortunately

SEction of 1959 ad selling ConTact as home decorating toolConTact… that sticky book covering material…. the bane of every mother’s life from the time her kids turn four until the time they turn 10 and can’t be bothered covering their books any more. It will ensure the books last not only the whole year but probably the rest of the millenium as well.

But who knew it had so many other uses? You can decorate your home with ConTact! Well, back in 1959 you could.  It was a brand spanking new product back then.

I remember in the early eighties we booted the renters out of our house and returned to find they had indeed decorated with ConTact.  Someone had taken painstaking HOURS to cut all the flowers out of a sheet of contact and “beautify” the toilet walls with it. My mother was thrilled I tell you, thrilled *shakes head vigorously*. I am sure she felt it was an appropriate time for a swear word as she sat on the toilet for just as many hours scraping them all off again.

Magazine ad from 1959 extolling virtues of sticky ConTact for home decoratingStep away from the scissors people. Right away. I’m watching you. Yes, you.

: )

 

 

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Household, Magazines and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We have ConTact… and we’re not afraid to use it, unfortunately

  1. Cindi says:

    I have always thought of ConTact paper as a drawer liner or maybe for a shelf in a laundry room or such. But now you got me thinking………..
    😀 😀 😀
    – Cindi

Leave a Reply

