Act snappy, get happy!

Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be. 

~Abraham Lincoln

http://www.alittlekingandiblog.com/

Words to live by. It’s true —a lot of the time we can, in our very own minds, choose to stay in a bad mood and be angry or we can choose not to spend any more time that way and be happy. It takes a bit of practice but really worth a try.  No, I’m not talking about clinical depression being something you can just shrug off (because clearly that is not the case)….  I’m talking about the every day garden-variety grumps, bad mood or touch of the blues.

A happy thought or finding something beautiful or amazing to look at right where I am can be enough to snap me out of it and get back on track to feeling good.

Here are just a few things making me happy…

Monster finger puppetsMonster finger puppets. It’s okay to be silly.

Happy puppy pulling a vineA playful pup. Until he pulls the washing off AGAIN which certainly does damage my calm.

Glass beadsGlass beads… I think I was a bower bird in a previous life and want to collect all the pretty pretties (pity they were $8.00 each… luckily the photo made me happy and I didn’t need to buy any).

Orange Kombi vanKombi Vans. My family goes KOMBI! every time we see one.  And we are well past toddler stage. We also have a thing for cement mixers. Half of us think they are cement mixers, the other half think they are concrete mixers.

SparklerCapturing sparklers on film, well okay, in pixels. Sparklers are kind of amazing.

The image of the little King at the top of this post is my recent absolute favourite happy image.  Joy of life or what?

I hunted high and low for the original source and finally found it at the sweet blog  A Little King and I. Thanks Shawntae for letting me use it. : )

Just FINDING the image source after a long search made me happy.

Okay, okay, enough is enough! Before you start to retch and want to slap me, believe me, I’m no Pollyanna. No how, no way. Promise.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that sending something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Happy weekend!, Words to live by and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Act snappy, get happy!

  1. KnittingNanna says:

    That little kid is so darn cute! I might do a portrait like that of my daughter. She’s 35.

Leave a Reply

