Eggs Benedict, you make my heart sing (in a good way, not a death-metal way)

It’s been a bit quiet on the blog front this week what with urgent jobs coming at me left right and centre. What is it about end of financial year that makes people go mad and need to empty the wallet? Suits me because if they do it often enough I can have THIS for breakfast every day.  Not cooked by me either. Okay, okay, so I’d be the Cholesterol Queen, but apart from that…

Eggs BenedictWe have tried every known hollandaise sauce mix, packet and jar in the universe and let me tell you they are all mighty unpleasant. We shy away from making it ourselves because we KNOW full well we’ll be standing at the pot tasting it until we die…

Can you make a hollandaise soup? See what I mean, it’s a no-go-zone. It’s good to know one’s weaknesses.

Today we actually went to the trouble of finding out the history of our favourite food which you can read in more detail here. Basically in 1862, in America’s first restaurant, Mrs LeGrand Benedict decided she didn’t like anything on the menu. She had a little chat with the chef about the kind of meal she was after and voila! Eggs Benedict was born.

Thank you to you Mrs Le Grand and your fussy tastebuds. We heart you.  Until our hearts conk out from butter congestion.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Food & drink and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eggs Benedict, you make my heart sing (in a good way, not a death-metal way)

  1. Sure makes my heart sing too! And my middle name is Benedicta. Your blog is marvellous – I’ve been laughing out loud. Think we might be soulmates. Fear not, no stalker me. (Can you ever be sure?!) I want to eat Eggs Benedict right this second but the husband is walking the dog and he cooks now that my fascinating disabled condition has screwed up my cooking fingers. I do make a pretty mean Hollandaise, though, when push comes to shove.

  2. lampshadehat says:

    very special feelings about eggs benedict!
    discovered them while nursing in tassie – sometimes after ending a run of night shifts a bunch of us would go over to the Sheraton Hotel for an enormous pig-out on their breakfast buffet.
    if you think eggs benedict taste good – you should try them after 6 nightshifts. Heaven!!

    *gets all nostalgic*

  3. Cindi says:

    I think it’s one of those meals that is yummy to eat but I don’t like to look at it too closely…
    maybe it’s just me.

    • gillianloves says:

      I could look at it alllll day. Mmmm. Today however it’s back to the porridge. Luckily, I like that too! I’m not going to write a blog post about it though! : )

Leave a Reply

