Just my type…

When I was in second year at University we were given a design assignment to come up with  a poster for a Planetarium. Hooray! The allotted day arrived and all the designs were returned to us one by one with a critique on each.  Nearly everyone failed.

“B-b-b-but, what wha…?” we cried. “How could you?”

What the teacher had decided to mark us on was the typography. It was poorly spaced, badly executed, not given as much thought as the rest of the design.  I was thinking to myself well what you’ve shown is that you didn’t teach us very well <cow>. But, whether she meant to or not,  she did teach us very well, because I never forgot it.

Eventually I got over being indignant and defensive—I learned to love typography and realise it is so incredibly important. I learned to think of it in the beginning and not just at the end. I learned to not just accept what my computer spat out at me but to look at every letter and every line ending.

Typography has its part to play.  And when you see works by proper aficionados of the craft it is the glittery sparkly star of the show.

Here are just a couple of samples of work by wonderful Australian designer Keith Morris. Read them and weep.

Typographic designTypographic design

Drop cap courtesy of the wonderful Jessica Hische from her Daily Drop Cap project. Check it out.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Graphic design and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just my type…

  1. Concerned Bystander says:

    i actually had to look it up :
    ty·pog·ra·phy/tīˈpägrəfē/Noun
    1. The art or process of setting and arranging types and printing from them.
    2. The style and appearance of printed matter.
    As someone who loves a good font, (and gets really annoyed by a bad one) i can’t believe i didn’t know that. Thanks Lookmama website!!

Leave a Reply

