Search and you will find…

When I was a little kid my grandmother gave me a birthday card that instantly imprinted itself on my mind.  I loved it.  I was never a girly, prissy girl— no ribbons and frills for me—but this card, well, I simply adored it.  Maybe it was in my Laura Ingalls Wilder phase (C’mon, didn’t every little girl have one? You know you did).

Old greeting card, girl with parasol and big flowing skirt

Anyhow, something happened to my card.  I don’t know what but it was lost. I remembered it a few years ago and had half-hearted looks every now and again to try to find it.  A couple of months ago I was nosing around in images on Google and found my long-lost card!  And I found it on Etsy where I sometimes shop but never thought to look! Duh.

Inside of old greeting card, girls with parasols and big flowing skirts

This version of the card is dated 1947 (yes, many DECADES before I got mine). I read somewhere it is the most popular greeting card ever.  I have seen so many cards obviously based on this card and some that are total rip-offs of it.

Maybe I’ll start a collection. That’s not mental, is it?
Okay, maybe it is, just a bit.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Greeting cards, Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Search and you will find…

  1. Cindi aka oldblackcatboo says:

    Thankfully I was born after 47′ too….and I don’t remember having any cards like that.
    (I only remember kittys and puppy ones 🙂
    BUT my Mom collected all these little porcelain fiqurines that looked EXACTLY like those on your card. Some even had the umbrellas and many had the month of “JULY” printed in the front (the month that I was born) and she had shelves all over my room with these dolls on them.
    I had them for years but finally sold most of them…..not really my style.

    • gillianloves says:

      It’s not my style either… not a frilly-froopsie-cutesypie person in general. I love it though… it’s connected to Grandma and she was fabulous.

      I am just amazed I found it anywhere. : )

  2. Jane says:

    The cards are a bit mental. But very sweet. My daughter would LOVE them! And I do too. A bit.

    • gillianloves says:

      It’s all one card… that’s the inside. So it is even more full-on than you thought! Feeling sick, want a bucket?

      I love it because it is connected to my Grandmother but since I found it and put it on the blog I have seen it A LOT and now when I see it up big on the blog I have found I go “whoooooah” and feel a the tiiiiiniest bit queasy by the frilliness of it. Better do another post quick to push it off the main screen!

      It isn’t my style at all any more. It’s a little girl card for sure.

  3. btlau says:

    there are always times when we want to look just like that perfect beautiful porcelain doll in the card

    • gillianloves says:

      Yes that was probably it! I probably wanted a pretty dress like that. It was the roses that really got me.

      I am so unlike this card now though in my tastes. I find that interesting too, how much someone can change. Not the card girl though, she is the same frilly flouncy perfection as ever!

  4. Louise Oliphant says:

    This card connects me to my mother who died in June 2013.I miss her so much.We used to send the same card back and forth until it became unobtainable.

  5. Louise Oliphant says:

    This card connects me to my mother who died in June 2013.I miss her so much.We used to send the same card back and forth until it became unobtainable.It reminds me of my paper dolls.Every week I bought a new book that I had viewed through the shop window and on Saturday it was finally mine!One time I remember trekking through blistering Lower Hutt rain and wind to make the purchase.I carried it home under my raincoat.On arrival home, I always cut out the dolls and their clothes immediately.I entered their world through imagination all day Saturday-then they were put in a drawer.Eventually I couldn’t shut the drawer. Recently I revisited my hometown.The long journey to the Book Shop in Moera– the next suburb across had seemed like an enormous undertaking,but worth it because of the dolls.Now I see it was a very short distance.
    This card always makes me think of my dear mum and of my paper dolls.

    • gillianloves says:

      I’m so sorry I only just put your comment up now! I kind of fell into that bloggers black hole we all seem to find and missed quite a bit on here. It is lovely that you have sweet memories of this card. I have one we send back and forth in our family, now it is so filled up we have to write on the envelope!

Leave a Reply

