I am no Pollyanna but…

Most of us are just about as happy
as we make up our minds to be.

~ William Adams
English Merchant, Adventurer and Explorer,
first Englishman to visit Japan, 1564–1620

People often say to me “Oh you. You find the positive in everything”. Well let me just say a) not true, and b) only Pollyanna can do that.

But yes, I believe you can turn most things around. You can’t change what’s happened but you can work on how you respond to it. You can choose to be angry about things or suck it up, let it go and get over it. Don’t get me wrong, if I am having “a moment” I want to disintegrate people plenty and rant and moan like we all do.  But if you can get out of it just that bit quicker each time… well, how good is that?

Really good.

Happy weekend people. : )

happy dog

Do you like my new puppy? More on him and other kawaii finds in a later post…

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Happy weekend!, Quotes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I am no Pollyanna but…

  1. Cindi aka oldblackcatboo says:

    I used that same quote myself but I gave credit to Abraham Lincoln! Oops!
    and I totally agree. There are times that I’m all grumpy and then my mind starts to think of the “funny”side of things or I think about how lucky I am in other ways…then I think, crap! I just want to be cranky! Can’t I just be cranky!? Ha! but no, life is better when you try to be happy 🙂
    Love the puppy.

  2. I was thinking of Polly Waffle… she’s quite positive too.
    I’m all for positivity, so long as you don’t forget the golden rule… Puppies Are Evil.
    Love your blog, BTW.

Leave a Reply

