What the heck is heliotrope?

In my best Hermione Granger voice I say “Hee-lee-uh-trohp, not Hellio-trope”. Let’s get it right. So far we have covered chartreuse and taupe, I figure heliotrope may as well be next cab off the rank.

Heliotrope flower

A heliotrope named plant, which isn't actually the colour described as heliotrope but there you are then. Consistency is overrated.

What is a heliotrope anyway? Google it and you will get thousands of varieties of purple showing, like most weirdly named colours, no one really knows what it is. *flips through dictionary* Aha, any hairy plant that is a member of the Heliotropium genus. Plants like Borage which has pale purple flowers.

Yes, you guessed it.  Heliotrope > pale purple. Not just pale purple, purple with a tiny bit of a red tinge to it. (gags)

Generally pale purple makes me feel ill. This is the colour I feel when I am truly under the weather. Does that sound weird? It just LOOKS what sick feels like. Just me? If I am ever really sick please don’t give me these, it might be the beginning of the end.

Heliotrope coloured rose

Put a bit of oomf into the purple and it is absolutely my favourite colour. This week I found myself a pair of purple sunglasses and bought them quicker than you could say “Are you sure about those?” I can see little bits of purple round the edges when I wear them. Probably means I will be distracted and drive up a tree, but I’m willing to take the chance.

group of heliotrope coloured items

Images from top to bottom from the Flickr streams of u-murrayhusted and jeffk
Staple things EK success tools, satin flower appliques dobiedodo, purple satin headband dgweixin, , crochet hat marriss+drew

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Colour / color and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What the heck is heliotrope?

  1. Hold the phone… according to Wikipedia a heliotrope is an instrument that uses a mirror to reflect sunlight over great distances to mark the positions of participants in a land survey.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heliotrope_%28instrument%29

    So either you made up the bit about the furry purple vegetable, or the bloke who invented the telescope+mirror combination had a great deal of trouble thinking of a name for it.

  2. What? You didn’t approve my comment? I am flabbergasted. Ok, I’m over it now.
    🙂

    • gillianloves says:

      Of course I approved your comment. I want to look popular in blogland.
      Delay was because I was busy burning ants with my new heliotrope instrument. What, those weren’t ants…those were people great distances away? Uh oh…

Leave a Reply

