Chalk it up to experience… and talent

Chalk. Dusty. Fingernails on chalk boards > shudder. Speaking of chalk boards, I remember getting chalk thrown at me for talking in maths (he missed, and now he’s probably dead from old age. Sad? No). Whilst I admire the skill of the sidewalk chalk artists I don’t particulary like it. Me and chalk, meh.

I recently discovered, swooned and fell in love with, the work of New York based graphic designer Dana Tanamachi. Her custom chalk lettering is beautiful. I know I wouldn’t have the patience for it. I also know there isn’t enough hand cream in the world to make me want to give it a go. Luckily for me then, I can see what Dana comes up with instead. Lucky for you too, yes?

Dana TANAMACHI Chalk artDana Tanamachi at workDana Tanamachi finished work

You can check out more of Dana’s chalk creations on her website.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Graphic design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chalk it up to experience… and talent

  1. lampshadehat says:

    for someone like me who loves a good font,
    her work is awesome.

Leave a Reply

