I love you. You are my kind of nut.

Look Mama! Valentine's Day cardValentine’s Day. Aww. Yes, racing up on us is the day to remind your loved one why you love them so much. Why you love them so much despite their funny toes, the wet towels on the bed, the incessant snoring and flatulence that is louder than anatomically necessary. Love.  It’s grand.

If you believe the advertising, love is not only grand but it may cost you a grand as well.  And if you propose on Valentine’s Day it’s going to cost you a whole lot more than that buddy.

I can’t speak for everyone of course, but personally, I’m not one for gifts on Valentine’s Day or Mother’s Days.  I am not a “Day” kind of person in the commercial sense. I like a flower from the garden, maybe dinner cooked and yes, a card is nice.  Being both designers we usually make our own which means they are funny and personal. Actually that’s a fib, usually he makes them for me.  We rarely both get our acts together the same year. I did make the one last year though. Squirrels, they’re just so darn cute aren’t they? Yes, it’s true, they also bury their nuts in the garden and forget where they put them but they still love them. Stop over analysing.

Valentine’s Day does have its part to play however in giving the unattached the courage (excuse) to approach the object of their affections with a 24 hour shield of confidence.  And that’s a fine thing. If it all goes pear-shaped you can blame it on romantic rush of blood to the … um… to the head.  Yes, to the head.

Apart from the head rush, new love is also fortunate enough to enjoy heart palpitations, the stupid giggle and feeling so nervous you want to be sick. Plus if you go overboard with the Shmoopy Poopsie love names we all want to be sick. Trust me. We do.

Ah love, what would we do without it?

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Graphic design, Greeting cards, Look Mama!, Lovey love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I love you. You are my kind of nut.

  1. Cindi aka oldblackcatboo says:

    I agree. I think the “day” is so commercial but a bunch of roses and a box of drug store candies is almost enough to make a person call the whole thing off. Which is probably why I am single! LOL!
    But I would have been a sucker for a handmade card and an unusual flower.

    • gillianloves says:

      Yeah, I just think people should feel they have to spend money…money doesn’t make it MEAN more.
      Oh, and single has many, many benefits. Single in underrated. Peace and quiet springs to mind immediately.

  2. I’m hearing you. I’m wearing my “Stop Staring At My Nuts” Squirrel T-shirt thinking that people don’t understand me. That’s OK though… not everyone thinks my furry animals are cute. And I’m not talking about squirrels.

Leave a Reply

