Why did you buy me that?

Fish vase

Fish vase. When filled it would look like it is vomiting up flowers. It's almost so bad it's good. Almost.

Now, you know it’s going to happen. Statistics say it happens to each and every one of us at least once each Christmas. SOMEONE is going to give you something god-awful. A special something.  I say “something” because you either don’t quite know what it is or cannot possibly fathom why they thought you’d like it.

One year one my great aunties cooked us something special.
It was a lettuce quiche. Told us the secret ingredient half way through. So of course we had to keep eating. There was a lot of lettuce.

Fear not, now you can not only go WTF?, you can upload pic of said present along with its story to Why Did You Buy Me That?

Eagle head stapler

Of his eagle head stapler Daniel says: Today is my birthday and my office mate actually just gave me a stapler. But not just any stapler… a stapler shaped like an EAGLE’S BEAK. What in the name of holy hell is a grown ass man supposed to do with this? I’m going to throw it off the roof and see if it flies.

Shakespeare's head tissue dispenser

Shakespeare’s head tissue dispenser: “I should have fired my secretary after she gave me this.” - Wyatt

Baby head octopus

If aunty’s lettuce quiche didn’t give you nightmares this certainly will. It a kind of baby head octopusAs soon as I found this website I knew I had to send this in. It is a ceramic baby head, on ceramic octopus legs, and my boyfriend’s mother actually gave this to me for Christmas last year!!! It scares me and cracks me up at the same time. I am going to save it, and re-gift it to her in a few years. It will be hilarious.” – Dana

Yeah Dana, she will laugh and laugh at the thought you are giving her back something you thought was crap. In a couple of years she may well be your Mother-in-Law.  I think this dolly is a warning.  Run, run now.

So there you go, a few gifts surely more hideous than any you will be receiving. <cue dramatic music> Or are they? At least now you are prepared with a weapon of retaliation and your first expression will be one of delight because now you have something funny to share with the world.

My work here is done.  : )


About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that sending something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Gift ideas, Humour and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why did you buy me that?

  1. The lady doth protest too much…

    The Shakespeare tissue dispenser is COOL!

    To blow, or not to blow, that is the question….
    Alas, poor Nostrils, I blew them, Horatio…
    Blow, Blow, Thou winter wind…

    (fades off stage left, muttering and blowing nose, leaving a trail of discarded tissues)

  2. Kerry says:

    thanks for the chocolate. I will never again complain.

  3. carrie says:

    omg… lol!!!! That stapler is AWESOME. I hope it comes in other awkward animal shapes because these are totally going to be stocking stuffers this year ;) hehehehe! Thanks so much for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

