Light up your life

It’s a fact, I love pretty softly glowing things.  If I could have lanterns in the garden or festooned around the deck all year I would.  In fact, maybe I will.

Flying lanternsOf course setting things on fire and sending them into the night sky is a highly unrecommendable practice here in Australia.  But in high-rainfall China there are festivals dedicated to it. Not only are the lanterns beautiful but they waft slowly through the air like giant glowing jellyfish.

Every year I get tempted to do the insano Christmas lights.  I never do it though.  Partly because I am lazy as all get out, and partly because it seems like a waste of money. Don’t take offense, obsessed house decorators, I very much enjoy your lights and everyone has to have a hobby (why do I keep saying that?). And besides, my sad couple of strings of lights flung into a tree make yours look so much better.

Nagasaki lanterns at night

Photo of soft party streetlights

I guess I am not 100% sold on bright bright, retina-burning brightness… I think softly glowing lights are beautiful in their own somewhat understated way. It doesn’t have to be lanterns either. Tiny sparkles of fairy light do it for me too.

Maybe I will go buy a couple more strings of lights after all… not for Christmas you understand, just because they’re so pretty If only I could do something about all the mosquitoes I might actually be able to sit outside and admire them.

tree lights at night

Images: Flying lanterns; Nagasaki Lantern Festival 2010;  Looking for loveNight lights

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Household, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

