Persian fairy floss

A few years ago I was in the deli, you know, one of those really good ones where you go in for “Ham, please” and come out with fine sliced prosciutto, green olive mortadella,  the world’s best baba ghanoush and, well, Persian fairy floss.

PERSIAN FAIRY FLOSS

I had never heard of it before. Persia… so seductive and alluring.  It is, of course, now called Iran but I guess the fairy floss marketing gurus knew a good thing when they were onto it. Persian fairy floss it is.

It looks a bit like hanks of raw silk (or Muppet hair) with a texture not at all like the traditional fairy floss you get at the Show (and it doesn’t melt as quickly in your mouth and isn’t as sweet). I think of it as the grown-up version of kid’s fairy floss—great for adding wow factor as a cloud atop a dessert of mixed berries, the sweet and slightly tart combination is really good.

It is very addictive and every time we buy it, tiny wisp after wisp disappears until all we are left with was a sad empty little container. I always mean to do the berry thing, but no, doesn’t happen. I saw this fairy floss on television recently and, apparently, you are supposed to shove the whole cupful into your gob in one go. Not at $12 a pop I’m not.

As with just about everything, you can buy it online. I have not bought it that way as my local deli is a favourite but looking for an image on Flickr I read lots of positive comments about Pariya Pashmak Persian Fairy Floss. That might even be the brand I had… dare I confess we never read the label? <oink>

Image is from the Flickr stream of Crumpart

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Food & drink and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

