Kate Miller-Heidke

To be honest, most of the time, I like quiet. Beautiful, peaceful quiet.  Room in my own head to think.  Or not think.  I don’t see the need to fill up one’s day with noise, noise, noise.When I start talking to myself on goes the music. Not so much to stop me talking to myself but so I can start singing at the top of my lungs. Sings like a bird, me.  If the bird is some sort of Amazonian vulture maybe. With a sore throat.

I do like music. Often I even adore it — I see one of the songs on my  iTunes I played 58 times. Almost in a row. Apart from busting moves to the likes of Spandau Ballet and well… <you don’t need to know all my dirty little secrets do you?> … I  have more modern likes as well. Like Kate Miller-Heidke.

Kate Miller_Heidke CD image

Australian born singer-songwriter with an incredible voice.  Opera trained, but don’t let that put you off, she’s not opera any more (sorry opera lovers but there you go).

Kate and partner Keir Nuttall were the first Australians to win the International Songwriting Competition grand prize, with Caught In The Crowd. Up against more than 17 000 entries they were chosen by judges including Tom Waits, Robert Smith from The Cure, Neil Finn and Ray Davies from The Kinks.

If I could work out how to embed a YouTube video here I would, but I can’t, so I give up. I know, what sort of an attitude it that? Check out Caught in the Crowd here… it takes about 15 seconds to get going so don’t give up.

It’s not my very favourite of her songs but you’ll get the idea. Storytelling songwriting.
Songs with heart.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kate Miller-Heidke

  1. jenny miller says:

    Check out Mama by Kate MIller Heidke

  2. Miranda says:

    Did you ever see her hilarious little song about Australian Idol? On Rockwiz. Too funny. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99XDWMwpL_A

    • gillianloves says:

      Ha! No but I will go look. Did YOU see “the Facebook song” she did? It is on You Tube. Look at the OLDER version. Quality is poor but performance is funnier. So funny.

Leave a Reply

