REMO General Store

Launched in 1988 in Sydney, the Remo General Store mission was simple.

“To seek out and celebrate Quality & Passion in people and merchandise gathered together from all over the world.”

I really miss the actual store they used to have in Oxford Street and the funny catalogues that arrived in the letterbox a couple of times a year (I still have a few kicking around in one of my “Boxes of cool stuff I need to keep even though I don’t quite know why”).

Goggles to wear whilst chopping onionsOnion Goggles. They might work… it sounds plausible.
I have a foolproof, no-cry onion method. Get someone else to chop them.

Drumstick pencils

Drumstick pencils. If you want to be the most annoying person in the office.

Eating utensils called Splayds. Not sporks.

Splayds. And don’t you dare call them sporks or I will reach out of your computer
and slap you.

Test pattern T-shirt graphic

Remember test patterns?  You don’t see them much anymore since TV manages to broadcast drivel all hours of the day and night. Don’t TV stations WANT a break? I know I do.  I also want a t-shirt with a test pattern on it.

Now the store is pretty much an online phenomonen with nearly 46,000 customers from around the world. You can place an order at their Bondi HQ and receive a free gift, but most ordering these days is done online.

To be honest, I usually crack it with the site after about 20 minutes because it is pretty full on and I just want simple. Simple, simple, simple. <wisecrack all you want, I can take it.>

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Gift ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

