Junker Jane

Junker Jane sewn monster-like doll with a big googly eye

I can’t sew. It’s okay, no sympathy required, it’s a fact. I made an apron in Year 9 and it survived long enough to get marked, then the straps fell off in the wash.

So saying, I admire people who can sew. Last year I stumbled on the work of Junker Jane (aka Catherine Zacchino). She has a simple blog where she posts weird and wonderful inspirational images, plus pics of her latest cute and somewhat creepy creations, some of which make it into her Etsy shop and are snapped up lightning fast. Half the time they are reserved before I even get there.  Probably just as well. Luckily she is a prolific producer, so hang in there and you may well have a little monster or voodoo dolly to call your own.

Junker Jane sewn monster-like doll with a big googly eye

Admittedly it’s not a style for everyone… I showed a friend who said, “Wow, that’s a-maaaaazing … that someone managed to sell that.” <punch> But if it is a style that appeals, you’re in for a treat.  All Junker’s creations are special but occasionally <okay, quite often> you come across one that you just know is The One.

Which is why I have four of them sitting on the Shelf of Cool in my office. I think four might be enough, well I did… until I saw this one…

Junker Jane sewn monster-like doll—happy sappy clown

and these ones…

Group of four Junker Jane sewn monster-like dolls

Somebody. Stop. Me.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Dolls—yeah, dolls, Toys, Way cool and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Junker Jane

  1. bathead says:

    the first one is my favorite.
    i know that feeling.

  2. Cindi Myers aka oldblackcatboo says:

    I think it was through Junker’s blog that we started the “movie review” convo between us! LOL!
    So ya gotta know that I absolutely adore her! Her work is amazing!
    And HEY! I just realized that YOU go the little lamb that I wanted!!!!
    Grrrrrrrrrrr

    • gillianloves says:

      Yes it was on her blog we started movie madness! Ha.

      No no lamb for me. Voodoo monster Alain, little monster BeBe, happy sappy clown and a magnificent mouse.
      I wanted Lambsie too. Probably just as well there are people quicker on the Etsy button than me.

Leave a Reply

