Etsy find: pretty pretty baubles by Leah Sawyer

Handmade glass beads, closeup of necklace

I am a bit of a bower bird, it’s true.  I like collecting all manner of pretty things… and these are about the prettiest I have found in a long, long time. So pretty, in fact, that I want them all.

Leah Sawyer is an Australian jewellery designer based in Sydney who gave up  a life of travelling for one of equally thrilling artistic adventure.  Each of her jewellery marvels is combination of hand-made lampwork glass beads, semi-precious stones and sterling silver.

Handmade glass beads, closeup of necklace

Leah says, “The glass is heated in the flame to make it pliable then formed into a bead around a mandrel (thin stainless steel rod), you can then build up a pattern with different colours of glass. Once you have cooled the bead very slowly (in a kiln), you can remove the mandrel and you have your bead.”

For the amount of work it takes to make each bead they are very reasonably priced indeed.

Earrings are about $65US which isn’t too bad for a one-off piece of art. Bangles and necklaces are more pricey but oh-so lovely.

Check out the pretty, pretty things!

Handmade glass beads, closeup of drop-style earrings
Handmade glass beads, closeup of necklace

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Etsy finds, Jewellery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

