Blog love — sfgirlbybay

Now, I realise by writing about one of my favourite blogs I may be telling you something you already know… and what you will already know is how totally fabulous this blog is: sfgirlbybay (bohemian modern style from a San Franciso girl)

Screen capture of SFGIRLBYBAY header

What do I know about sfgirlbybay?

Well, from what I am told on the website I know the editor and main contributor is Victoria Smith — a journalism major, a degree in interior design, photographer and all round design aficionado.

From my many, many visits to her site I know I will always find something interesting to read, something interesting to track down, gorgeous photos to inspire and many new links to send me off on a trail of discovery.

Some sites seem like the author is ticking all the boxes on “how to write a successful blog”. I never ever get that feeling here. This blog is written by a person with a true love of design, interest in fostering new designers and generally opening reader’s eyes to new approaches to design, be it interiors, photography, printmaking … you name it, the list is long.

Screen capture of a page from SFGIRLBYBAY blog

The language is friendly and I come away feeling like I have had a visit with a friend. I don’t feel the need to visit every day, although I generally do (don’t worry, I’m not like that in real “real life”).  I know if I don’t get to it one day there will just be that much more to discover next time.

I think so highly of the site I have previously advertised on it myself.  If I can reach people who love what I love that’s got to be a good idea. Just so you know (and because I don’t want to fret about what you’re thinking) I don’t know Victoria and am not getting any special deals for writing this I promise. We’re upfront about things like that at Look Mama. We are.

sfgirlbybay was recently voted number ten in the Times of London Top 100 blogs in the world. How completely cool is that?

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Blog love.... Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog love — sfgirlbybay

  1. Oh i mean to get to this blog more often, yours is ace too Gillian, be proud. Genuinely funny blogs are hard to find, just your comments make me giggle. Funny how the jounalist blogs are so slick, i’m a pharmacologist who patchworks, does it show i am NOT a English major?? I wonder, people are too nice to rate me. Love Posie

Leave a Reply

