Creative love: Teesha Moore

Journal page by Teesha Moore—five little dogs in stripy pointed hats.

For a bit of a brain shakeup and a dip into someone else’s way of thinking, visit Teesha’s Land of Odd.

Teesha Moore is a veritable icon of the American journaling and craft scene.

Journaling is where you paint draw, collage <really, whatever dings your bell> in an art-style blank journal.  It’s where you get to spill your guts if you want to and try out lots of different techniques.  It doesn’t matter if it turns out like a dog’s breakfast, that’s all part of the journey (I hate that phrase, but it’s true).  You can rework it later if you like. Or not.  It’s your thing.

Three journal pages by Teesha Moore

Teesha shares a great deal of herself in her pages and in her blog.  She also has an online shop where she sells printed collage pages with images taken from her work, rubber stamps and a set of little books full of her own journal pages plus heaps of other interesting bits and bobs. I bought a set of her books last year and they were not only interesting to read but fabulous to flick through. Great for getting myself  motivated and out of a creative rut and trying new approaches and styles.

The work is full of colour and emotion.  Teesha is a sharing person who is happy for you to use her material to give you a kick start and to encourage your own creativity. And that makes her a nice person in my book!  My “not nearly filled up enough, colourful, scrawled-in” book.

Thanks Teesha!

Journal page by Teesha Moore—Mona Lisa in pointy hat. Stripy too.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Blog love..., Illustration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creative love: Teesha Moore

  1. Cindi Myers aka oldblackcatboo says:

    I adore her work! I love the IDEA of journaling but never can find the time….(except for my blog of course.)

    • gillianloves says:

      I do it in fits and starts. I like to think I will do it in front of the telly at night. Nuh. Too lazy. Then, just like at school, I decide my book is too messy and I want to start again in a nice sparkly new one. Looks like the fresh piece of paper is the only way for me…. and even then…

Leave a Reply

