Rue the day? Not likely!

Ahhhh, the person who creates effortless interior design, makes perfect choices, is the finder of fabulous vintage finds and the possessor of just the right knack for putting it all together…  I’d like to say that was me as I waft from room to room straightening cushions, adjusting the vases of daffodils and re-draping the Mongolian yak-wool throw.

But no.  It’s not. I would be the one clunking from room to room picking up piles of topply stuff that has, well, toppled and putting them back where they slid from… not actually where it was supposed to go mind you. I do the full on purge clean and tidy pretty often but it is not a natural state of loveliness I’m afraid.

I like looking at pretty pictures of well designed, artfully decorated rooms filled with clever knick knacks and whimsical art.  I’m just not so good at creating (and maintaining) them. A new online magazine might just change my mind and get me to put in that extra bit of effort. Meet Rue Magazine.  Read it and weep.

Above: This first issue contains pages and pages on the home of the fabulous Victoria Smith. She is the driving force behind the hugely successful design/style blog sfgirlbybay. Read it and be inspired!

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that giving something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Magazines and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rue the day? Not likely!

  1. Cindi Myers aka oldblackcatboo says:

    I just read about this magazine over at the blog “griege” and now here!
    I’m going to have to make sure to get it! I LOVE Victoria Smith’s home. My fav colors!
    Black and White…er, well maybe they are NOT officially “colors” but…
    I’m off now to check out Victoria’s blog!

    • gillianloves says:

      Hey Cindi! You found me!

      Victoria’s blog is great, I thought I was the only one to just discover her! Her house is lovely i must say. My house looks nothing like that. I do find the white white white trend a bit blinding. Maybe because I am more accustomed to the colour of grot and grime….

Leave a Reply

