A glimpse of San Francisco in the 1940s *sighs*

I love San Francisco (like, doesn’t everybody?). Maybe it’s all the episodes of Monk we watched.

I read a book of letters by Laura Ingalls Wilder to her husband where she described the Panama Pacific International Exposition of 1915. She talked of the Tower of Jewels, the tallest building at the Expo.  It sounded a completely, wonderfully magical place. She ate at a Chinese restaurant and rode trolley cars. What a spin-out that must have been for a pioneer woman.

These pics are later than that — San Francisco in the 1940s — but they are totally fabulous. They are teeny tiny postcards. I don’t expect you’d post them though so maybe picture cards is a better description.

So here’s cheers to San Francisco, you beautiful, beautiful thing!

6 tiny postcards of San Francisco from the 1940s era

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that sending something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A glimpse of San Francisco in the 1940s *sighs*

  1. Cindi says:

    I’ve never been to San Francisco…or California.
    Or the desert or the Northwest
    or out of the country or….
    I need to go someplace!!!!
    and right now, San Franciso sounds nice.

Leave a Reply

