Slanket is not a dirty word

It’s getting a mite chilly in this part of the world. I have taken to wearing a scarf in the house (we are el cheapo on the heating) and I have a blanket around me on the couch to keep me snug. Actually it is to keep me from getting out the little blowy heater and single-handedly melting down the ice caps.

Last year I learned of the fashion innovation known as the Slanket® (the original blanket with sleeves™). For those not in the know, see here….

Slanket couch-wear

Above is “Sofa Safari”. If I could stop laughing at it this would be the one for me. I have a cat that matches as well. I bet she slid off the couch a millisecond after the pic was snapped. How anybody manages to walk around in them without stacking it is beyond me. Fine for my house because I live in The Land of the Giants.  Us being the giants.

Of course there is also the Sluvet. Tie a duvet (aka doona) around yourself with the dressing gown cord. No pics of this one I’m afraid as no one has cottoned on to the immense selling potential.

Either of these options I could cope with as I could go all Roman Emperor and eat myself some crackly pig and a few grapes.

But, DRUM ROLL please… Let me introduce the Lazypatch Duvet Suit. “A revolution in couchwear”.  They really need to slap a ™ on that quick smart.

Lazypatch Duvet suit

It’s an Australian invention (we are right up there I tell you) now available to the WORLD. The website states “It’s like an ugg boot for your body”. Since I can already see how just how “good” the Ugg boot is for flattering my feet, I’m not sure I could carry this one off.  Especially not in powder blue, and especially not if I get stuck into too much of the crackly pig.

Maybe I will get one.  I bet after the family sees me in it the heater will go up a few notches toot sweet. I will be the winner.  Okay, okay…. and the loser. Not as losery as all the poor people who had to see me in my powder blue glory.

(PS It does come in other colours and it actually has a lovely history. But it’s still funny. Anyone can see that.)

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that sending something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slanket is not a dirty word

  1. WSW says:

    In the northernmost reaches of the US, we refer to the Lazy Patch Duvet Suit as either underwear or formal attire, depending on whether we’re going out or staying in. You Aussies are so sophisticated!

  2. Cindi says:

    you poor thing.
    it hit 85 degrees here today.
    tee hee

Leave a Reply

