Now here’s a thought…. be creative just for fun

ILLUSTRATION OF A JUGGLERThe web has made the world smaller by opening up avenues of thought and vision that would never have been possible when our only avenue was what we saw in books.

This expanded vision of what the world is up to can also be disheartening. It shows you that lots of those great ideas you’ve been thinking about doing have already been done.

It is easy to fall into the trap of “wish I’d done that, but now it’s been done so I will sit on the couch and do nothing“. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my couch. Nothing wrong with a bit of couch love.  Just don’t vedge every chance you get (and yes I am waggling the pointy finger at myself here too, you better believe it).

There are always people who are so “right” in their niche.  Who have found their style and do it completely wonderfully. They may be able to do nothing else but when one fabulous site piles on top of another it can seem that everyone is totally good at something but you.

Well guess what?  It doesn’t matter. You don’t have to be great. For all you creators out there, be it writer’s, illustrators, designers, crocheters… whatever… you do not need to be the absolute best and world-renowned at your chosen thing. You do not need to be Chagall or Andy Warhol.  Or the world’s best blogger, Tweeter or Facebooker with fifty bajillion devotees. You don’t need to be Douglas Adams, Teesha Moore or Banksy.

You just need to be you and have fun with what you are doing.  Create for the sake of it. Enjoy yourself. I am not suggesting you then flog it all on Etsy. By all means go for it if you want, but Regretsy is world-famous for a reeeeason.

Look Mama doodle of happy face

Everything doesn’t have to be created for money and acclaim. Some things can just be created, you know, for fun.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that sending something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Motivational, Words to live by and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Now here’s a thought…. be creative just for fun

  1. yea…i so agree with what u say here…enjoying what you do is so important

    • gillianloves says:

      It is important. And also relaxing a bit I think. If we get too stressed about whether something is GREAT or about how NOT great it is then that stifles enjoyment. : )

  2. Cindi says:

    So I just had to go back to the top and double check that this was actually a “post” and not a direct “email” to ME. I swear I thought that you had been peeping into my window, spying me on my sofa and shaking your head.
    Thanks so much for this post!
    XOXO – cindi

Leave a Reply

