Happy Australia Day!

Australian flagAustralians love Australia day. We do. Not just because of our past history but because it is a chance to celebrate what’s great right now. We give a cheer for those who have done well and for those who have done it tough. We have had plenty of the latter in the past few weeks.

Still, with every tragedy comes a triumph. Sure, it’s a cliché, but what we’ve seen is a triumph of the human spirit. Strangers turning up by the busload to help others clean out their flood damaged houses, working in stinking mud to put right what has gone so wrong.

Hooray Australians!  I hope we all have a terrific day. Must be time for a lamington…

Lamington cake

Australian flag image is from the Flickr stream of Rex Libris
Lamington image from the Flickr steam of Avlxyz

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that sending something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Happy weekend! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Australia Day!

  1. Cindi aka oldblackcatboo says:

    if things keep going downhill here maybe I’ll pack it up and move to Australia!
    Do they have a “limit” on dogs? tee hee :)

    • gillianloves says:

      Hello stranger! Yes please come. We love dogs. Although YOU are probably over the limit! I think it’s three without special permission from someone. I haven’t checked any blogs lately… I’ll zip on over to yours now. I hope things are not too bad. : )

  2. I love Australia…my favorite place is Curan Cove!

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

Leave a Reply

