I want a complete doormat

You thought I was talking about a guy I could walk all over? Shame on you.

naughty dog wearing halo of innocenceI am actually going to bang on about proper doormats. Weird thing for a post I know but, you see, I buy a fair few doormats.  I do. Why? Not because I love doormats or because I have so many visitors that they get worn out. In fact I live in a cave and rarely invite people over. I  buy so many freaking doormats because Rex the Wonderdog loves the taste of doormats. I really don’t know why I bother getting new ones, the house is always full of bits of grit anyway.

In search of a fabulous new (cast iron, indestructible) doormat I stumbled across these other ones that, if they weren’t going to be torn to shreds, would fit the bill perfectly.

spotty doormat

Spots doormat

stripy doormat

I do like a good stripe.  This looks a bit like a bathmat at the front door…but I still like it.

doormat

Cleanscrape Mat The name is a bit off-putting.  I prefer to think my dainty size tens need a light dusting off … not a good old scraping.

Doormat with a finish line on it

First one home wins!

River stones as a doormat

stone door mat. Made from real stones! If the dog chews this one up we might be in trouble. At $149.50 I don’t think we’ll be finding out…

oval rubber doormat

Highgate Doormat -Oval

The website says “made of virtually indestructible molded rubber. Impervious to cold, heat, and water…” Virtually indestructible? We have virtually indestructible for dinner. I wonder if it is impervious to dog jaws. Worth a try? No, I don’t think so either.

Really, though, I don’t want timeless ambience.  I want a cast iron doormat that doesn’t look like I live in a Victorian era. Simple. No, not really. Then I had a flash of inspiration. WROUGHT iron, not cast iron. And look what I found…

Absolutely nothing.

BUT cast aluminium… I can even probably live with dragonflies. I like them better than butterflies version, that’s for sure. At $110 US and from overseas I Don’t Think So. But I’ll stash the thought away for when I’m living on easy street. By then I might be the only one here who is barking at things. And I’ll have a house full of cats instead.

cast aluminium doormat

But to keep the little muncher occupied I can afford this … and that will have to do for now.

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that sending something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Animals, Household and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I want a complete doormat

  1. naomi says:

    Hi Gillian,
    You need to check out the doormats at RAWSPACE….especially the one due in, at Xmas “i am not a Doormat” of course!

Leave a Reply

