Char… what? Chartreuse (shar-trooz)

I’m  a graphic designer.  I know colours.  Right?  Right. Well it was not always the case.  For years I never quite knew what chartreuse was. For some reason I thought it was pink.  But no, it’s not.

Now of course, I know it is utterly gorgeous green with a touch of yellow… and sometimes yellow with a touch of green. Chartreuse is flexible like that.  Not like that “duck-egg blue” crowd.

Any colour named after a French liqueur has got to have something going for it.

Four images showing chartruese colour

Clockwise from top left, images from the Flickr streams of:
Jeremy BrookspaloeticZoeAndBruno/JewelRee; and knitalatte11

Painting of wine bottle & corkscrew on textured charteuse background

White wine bottle and corkscrew 8×10 kitchen art print

Chartreuse coloured glass bead bracelet

Key Lime Bracelet

Shoulder bag—silk chartreuse background with colourful silk flowers on it.

Shanghai Chartreuse Convertible Messenger Diaper Bag

Chartreuse and brown (yes brown) rectangular pendant and necklace set.

Bright Lime Green Floral Patchwork Handmade Porcelain Pendant Charm Set

 

Print with chartreuse bulldog—"Attitude is the little thing that makes a big difference"

Bulldog Print – Inspirational Dog Print Series

About gillianloves

I decided there was not enough laughing in my life so I set to and started to design greeting cards in addition to my other design work. I'm happy to make people smile and to show that sending something really good takes as little effort as sending something pretty ordinary. I fully believe that if you can laugh about it someday you may as well laugh about it today. And also that we are just about as happy as we try to be. But you should know, Pollyanna I'm not. Even I might want to slap her after a day or so.
This entry was posted in Colour / color, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Char… what? Chartreuse (shar-trooz)

  1. Miranda says:

    Oh. I thought it was pink too. And how weird that it turns out that shar-trooz has always been my favourite colour!

  2. Cindi Myers aka oldblackcatboo says:

    Actually my bedroom is painted Chartreuse. I have bright colorful paintings in there…mainly Annora Spence. The rest of my home is white. White and black.
    It’s kind of a JOLT to walk into my bedroom………
    I’m thinking of painting it Duck-Egg Blue.
    hee hee

Leave a Reply

